Am I Weird?

Yes, most definitely, yes! And I say it with pride. Why, you may ask? Because I am free to be myself and for that freedom I am eternally grateful! For why should I be something other than who I am? For what reason should I conform to someone else’s definition or expectation of me? I am confident in who I am, I know my limits, and I live within them. I am free to push them farther and farther as I grow and develop continuously as I wish to better myself in various categories for my own good and for the good of those who work with me, live with me, love me, and support me.

So in the hustle and bustle of daily life, why not be a little weird? Why not embrace everyone’s weirdness? Face it, whether you want to admit it or not, you’re a little weird, too. Don’t worry, though. I won’t tell anyone! But that’s why I love you! For your weirdness, your quirks, and the distinct actions and characteristics that make you who you are. That is what I fall in love with whether it be in a relationship or a friendship. This weirdness is strangely attractive in its own way, and when you are infatuated with someone their quirks become even more the reason to find that person irresistible.

All of this positive talk about weirdness, however, is countered by how difficult it can be for us growing up. When we are teens, we just want to fit in with the crowd and weirdness can be seen as a factor for being socially ostracized. Even in adulthood, our weirdness can be frowned upon if not fully understood and appreciated.

Isn’t it amazing, though? That our differences are what attract us. That our quirkiness can be the essence of our being and the reason why we love one another? What are your thoughts on this? Dare I ask, what do you think makes you “weird” and how do you embrace it?6c93648faf1d13f01a0ef930aae262d7

Leave a Reply

