Vision


To imagine; to see into the future; simply to see what is around us, in front of us, behind us; a dream.

Vision is a powerful word whether it refers to the ability to see and plan into the future or the ability to see what lies before our very eyes at any given moment. For without it we are blind, robbed of one powerful sense, and must feel and hear our way through life, not knowing what lies ahead. Without vision we neither can see nor dream, and how different life would be, how differently we would experience the beauty of life!

Our perspective on everything would be different as vision colors our perspective on life. We’ve all heard of seeing life through rose-colored glasses – an expression of how our perspective also changes our vision when we are in love. For we are quick to take note of how beautiful life itself is when we are so deeply in love. And in this manner perspective and vision are intertwined. For in love, we envision a very different future for ourselves compared to when we are not in love but single and searching or simply enjoying life on own.

And so it goes, this vision, this dream of life and all it has to offer – it keeps us going through thick and thin, through the joys and darkness that envelop our days and nights. It motivates us to push onward, to better ourselves, and to really look at life in all its colors that brighten our lives with such things as deep blue skies and vibrant flowers.

I dare you to think of life without vision for a moment. What would you miss the most? Surprisingly, it makes you realize what’s really important to you – what you tend to value the most in life be it motivation, simply dreaming, or seeing the faces of your loved ones as they grow and change in the face of vision itself.

Vision

6 thoughts on “Vision

  1. I enjoyed your post! I must tell you that I worked with a person who was blind from birth. She was very cheerful and when first meeting her she talked as if she could see. She would say “Hello Carmela, You look nice today.” as I reply “Thank you” my teenage daughter gives me a funny look as she points to her own eyes and mouths the words “isn’t she blind” with a confused look. 🙂 She also once told me she had a dream and I was in the dream. I was on Wheel of Fortune game show. Although I always thought it would be devastating to live without sight, after I worked with this person who was blind from birth and learned to read braille and function independently and live happily my thoughts changed a bit. We decided in her dreams she must see (using her imagination). I must say though as I was driving the van and would go to back up and for conversation sake ask “How does it look back there guys”, the only one that would call out “it’s all clear Carmela” was the lady that was blind 🙂 I truly enjoyed that job. There was always something to chuckle about. Thanks for your post.
    With Respect, Hope, Joy and Love, Carmela

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Carmela, for your kind words and a poignant recollection! One thing I love about blogging is we can share our experiences with one another and open our horizons to realize things we never thought about before. Thank you for sharing this with me! I hope you still see her and wish her well for me!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I certainly will. I also seen a movie named At First Sight that was about someone who was blind from birth and found it so difficult after having an operation that gave him site. It amazed me after seeing the movie because I expected it to be such an awesome experience to be given site! but he found it so difficult and scary. I was definitely a movie that surprised me and made me think differently as well. The movie came out in 1999.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

