Pensive


Quiet, lost in deep thought, … the way I usually am myself. Pensive brings to mind my anxiety in the background, always firing off those neurons at super fast speeds. Questions, endless questions of what if, why, and how this or that… Pensive is good in that it keeps me questioning things and people and keeps my mind active, but there is such a thing as being too pensive – thinking too deeply on things and not acting on the decisions being made, the goals being set. This is a hindrance for me because instead of moving forward I keep myself back with all of the questions in my head. 

On the other hand, it’s great to think things through and be self-reflecting in hindsight. It helps to backtrack and think about what storms or obstacles we have faced and how we might learn from them to better ourselves in preparation for the future. For example, reexaminng past foibles in the academic sense can help us get better grades in the future, or reexaminng past relationships can help us avoid certain unfavorable situations in the future.

So I urge you to be a little pensive yourself and think about what you have learned and how you have grown from your past experiences. How has this helped shape your life for the better? How can it continue to affect you positively in the future?

Pensive

2 thoughts on “Pensive

Leave a Reply

