Or


Be respectful or be quiet! The last eight years, several thousands if not millions of people have felt the way you do right now – unsure of the future and fearful of the direction that this nation might be going toward – but that didn’t give them the idea to burn the sacred symbols of this country and rip it to shreds with hatred. Look at yourselves! You are behaving like children – sore losers! What will history remember about you? That you filled the streets with fear and hatred, burning flags and cars, etc. I seriously want to know who’s paying you to do this. It may sound crass, but I’m damned sure someone is behind this demonstration just like the free iPhones given to those who would protest certain things that I still cannot believe.

It’s time – time to get real. The nation elected someone and if you don’t like it, at least be respectful to those around you or be quiet. No one wants to hear you whine and cry about how depressed you are. Believe me, I know. I have whined and cried at being depressed on personal terms outside of this election – not because of it – and no one benefits from it. It brings people down. This is a time in our history when we need desperately to be united and strong in our faith about the future of our country or else it will all go downhill. Is that what you want? It’s not what I want! And I happen to feel that what I want is for this country to be at its absolute best no matter who leads us there.

Or

7 thoughts on “Or

  1. Sorry–but I have to completely disagree with this particular perspective.

    Our country is built on the foundations of the First Amendment’s rights to free speech and free assembly. If you are unhappy about something, you have the right to voice that displeasure. Many people in the United States are upset about the outcome of this week’s election. Some are unhappy because they dislike Donald Trump. Some are disenchanted that 59 million people would vote for a man that ran on a platform that appeared to encourage division, support Islamophobia, misogyny, homophobia, ridicule of the disabled. Some are just unhappy with how the Trump campaign kept relatively silent when groups like the KKK “endorsed” his candidacy, or retweeted links to white nationalist blogs and websites.

    When people are unhappy, they often make their voices heard. Many have chosen to do so by protesting in the streets. Don’t be fooled for one moment into thinking that all of these protests are some kind of paid, arranged ploy by a nefarious Democratic National Committee or any other group. This isn’t a mainstream media conspiracy. This is people that are upset–and scared–because, whether intentional or not, the Trump campaign gave legitimacy to a very ugly, racist and xenophobic fringe group.

    This is not saying all Trump supporters are in that mold. I was very pleased to see articles today where Republican groups were denouncing these hate groups and the harassment and assaults they have been propagating over the past 72 hours. Even Donald Trump and his campaign themselves have called out these hate groups today.

    There is hope for the future.

    However, to say that “everyone else accepted when their candidate lost” in the previous two elections is not exactly accurate. No, they did not burn flags, but they did protest, they did voice their displeasure at President Obama–“He’s not our President!” and “He’s not even an American!” were two very common phrases uttered among certain parts of the conservative circles in the United States. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R) publicly denounced the election of Barack Obama and announced to the world that the GOP would work to block anything Obama tried to do — they would make him a one-term President. That wasn’t a “MSM” conspiracy or a rumor on a blog–those were the Republican Senate Majority leader’s own words.

    So, as long as they can do it peacefully, let those who are unhappy voice their displeasure. Let them protest. It’s their right. And, in light of the serious spike in hate crimes against black, Latino/Latina, Asian, Muslim and LGBTQ Americans over the past three days, it might even be justified in some circles.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. And if the media didn’t tell you what they have, would you proudly state all that you just did? I wonder. The media was blind sighted by the election results. The people have spoken and they simply choose to disagree with your viewpoint. Why does that scare you so? People cannot agree to disagree or is your voice the only important one? I for one never liked politics to begin with because everyone promises the world and the heavens above and then never gets it all done. But I live in this country proudly as I have all my life and would never disrespect anyone for their opinions and beliefs. I do my own homework and I don’t rely on polls or newscasts. I watch and read both sides to see what they have to say. But whoever gets elected, I am behind them one hundred percent because they have earned my respect. I don’t listen to the trashing of either side. That’s all bull to me. Childish name calling. The damage has been done – it’s done and over. Be an American and stand in solidarity with your fellow American. All Trump supporters and Clinton supporters can do is hope for the best now. If we are divided still, no one will prosper. If we come to understand our differences we can begin to unite for all of our good.

      Like

      1. I completely agree with your final points. We do all need to get together–to respect and understand one another. We need to all be willing to accept our differences–both external and internal. I’m a firm believer in unity–but unity comes from mutual understanding and respect, and that takes time and effort on both sides. It’s not automatic.

        Rather than telling people to “get over it,” ask them why they’re so upset. Listen to them. Only by opening our ears can we open our hearts and minds and accept.

        Will this work for everyone? No. There will always been irrational, stubborn people that won’t have any interest in working together. I pity those people. However, I do think most people will talk to someone they feel will listen. And the more people we can find like that, the quicker we can all heal.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I can understand your frustration. Regardless of votes or parties, the entire country has had extreme reactions to the new President-elect. I can understand a longing for peace and order to be restored. (Where you’ve see violent protests, for instance, on behalf of the “blue” side, I’ve seen derogatory comments and symbols disseminated on behalf of the “red” side. The media feeds us all what it thinks we want to see.)

    That being said, I also agree with technobabble1; to have a democratic state, peoples’ voices–on all sides of an issue–must be heard. I disagree with your implication that remaining quiet is somehow a sign of respect.

    One of the very definitions of respect, from Merriam Webster, is “a feeling or understanding that someone or something is important, serious.” I believe that Trump’s presidency is serious. I believe his supporters need to be treated as though their voice matters, that it is important. But when I take issue with aspects of their political platform, I will share my opinion OUT OF respect. To remain silent? THAT, to me, would be disrespectful. A refusal to engage with viewpoints I don’t believe in is, to me, disrespectful.

    Maybe it’s worth considering how much the definition of respect varies from person to person. For some, quiet acquiescence is respect; for others, a willingness to engage. Out of respect to you, I’ll try to keep your definition in mind, even if I don’t personally agree with or endorse it. Out of respect to me, I hope you’ll do the same.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

