Parlay

“Parlay. I invoke the right of parlay. According to the Code of the Brethren set down by the pirates Morgan and Bartholomew, you have to take me to your captain.

If an adversary demands parlay, you can do them no harm until the parley is complete.”

This word brings to mind a favorite series of movies and tales of pirates. “Parlay”/”parley” meaning the Code of the Pirate Bretheren that Elizabeth Swann invokes in one scene of the movie series. It unleashes her surprisingly extensive knowledge of the pirate world and earns her some respect among the pirates who surround her.

Close to the French word, to speak (“parler”), it beckons temporary protection before any attacks are made to ensure safe negotiation between parties – here, Ms. Swann and Pintel’s captain.

Don’t we all find ourselves in a pickle from time to time? It would be nice if we could have a parlay to save us momentarily from whatever awaits us. And this, I think I have found for myself, is the moment when I say quiet prayer. A captain perhaps being God, and myself in some kind of trouble, I go to God; however, I need not negotiate for anything – he has made the biggest parlay for all of us (intervened to bring us salvation from our shortcomings as we are only human). And realizing this again from time to time is what keeps me going – walking that path that was meant for me.

What do you think of when you read this word?
Parlay
Featured Blogger of the Week

Leave a Reply

