Immerse

droplet

Do you ever just walk straight into the pool from the steps inward, and feel the water immerse you as you walk closer to the deep end? Okay, maybe I’m weird, but I have done this many times. As the water envelopes me, I feel like I’m one with it.

When I write my creative works, I feel this way – immersed in another world of my making, except it sort of writes itself as I can see it all in my mind playing out like a movie. And there I sit at my computer like a recorder of this movie in my head. Creating all of these characters, making them so real and likable, sharing these moments with them.

I can understand why writers say their works are their babies. First off, they take creativity and cultivation to grow and develop into finished products (if a piece is ever really finished). Secondly, a writer spends so many hours laboring over their writing, editing, rewriting, etc., that the personal investment in these works is incredibly amazing. It takes a great deal of dedication and imaginative/creative energy. It can be draining, but I can attest to the fact that there is nothing like it – nothing as fun and filled with wonder than immersing yourself in an imagined world.

This is why I fell in love with reading and writing at a young age.

So I encourage you to immerse yourself in the world of a book, whether you like the smell of the paper of a crisp new one or the aged appreciation of an older used one. Perhaps you like the digital copy – easily accessible and mobile? Whatever the case, I urge you to immerse yourself in a world different than your own. You will laugh, cry, learn, and grow in understanding and enjoyment at the wonder behind all of those words on every page.

Immerse

3 thoughts on “Immerse

Leave a Reply

