Luck?

What-luck-Means

“I don’t believe in luck,” he told her. “I believe in being blessed.”

Luck, good fortune, whatever you may call it. It has manifested itself in one culture after another for as long as we can remember. But do you believe in luck? That there is some chance in the universe that luck plays a role in your life?

Like in this conversation that took place quite some time ago in my own life, you have noticed at one point that some choose not to believe in it, and to believe in blessings instead – like gifts of good intention from an all-knowing, all-powerful, and unconditionally loving God. And yet, luck is a word that shows up in common vocabulary and common conversation still – even in my own, though I too believe in blessings. Maybe I choose to humor this word, “luck.” I still say, “good luck” and wish others good fortune.

I had never really thought about this before the conversation above happened. I had taken luck to be figure of speech like in “good luck” or just a regular phrase I use like “lucky you.” Before that point in time, I hadn’t realized how I was taking this word for granted, not really thinking about what it stood for and how it didn’t line up with what I believe.

That is, unless, I believed that luck was God’s doing, too. And this I do believe. I believe we are lucky from time to time that God intervenes and makes us meet the right people at the right time to use our strengths for His divine plan to work itself out, that we are lucky to have the blessings that are bestowed upon us every day, and that we are lucky to be able to use our strengths and blessings to lift each other up, help one another, and better serve one another. This is the luck I believe in.

Do you believe in luck? How so? Why or why not? I’d love to hear from you and understand your point of view.

 

Luck

Leave a Reply

