Cringe


Cringe: to make a sudden movement out of fear of being hurt or hit.

So I adopted a senior dog last December and she is now well adapted to me and my family. She has her daily routine, and her tail wags all of the time! But near the very beginning I could tell she was nervous and unsure as well as probably traumatized by previous owners mistreating her. It was sad! She would cringe with every sudden movement we made and every loud sound. She was afraid of fly swatters and newspapers – maybe things she had been hit with I’m guessing?

This whole idea of having to build trust was difficult to get my head around when I met her and she wouldn’t even look at me, but with consistency and affection sure enough it has been built over the course of 6 months. I carried her to the car, and she was definitely unsure if things but in my lap on the way home she felt a big relief and was so comfortable that she fell asleep. She can now rest without worry and sleep soundly.  She runs to the door to greet me happily when I come home from work and I wouldn’t have it any other way than to welcome her into my arms every day.

It isn’t easy but it’s the most rewarding experience I’ve ever had to rescue a pet. I highly recommend it to anyone out there with an open heart, and of course the practical things like enough room/space, financial means, etc. It is no small task but a huge commitment that takes time and energy to be nurtured and to grow.

Cringe

One thought on “Cringe

Leave a Reply

