Magnet


You push the door, I pull it shut. You’re loud, I’m quiet. You’re excited, I’m nervous. You’re eager, I hesitate. You trust, I don’t, at least not yet. But as much as you are the opposite of me, you draw me closer in curiosity and wonder. I wait for you to cross the line, but you don’t. I wait for you to say the wrong thing or something that doesn’t fit into the cookie cutter idea of you in my head. You don’t. Every laugh, joke, sincerity, is real. It brings me closer to you. Maybe. I think maybe. Because I’m still not sure or maybe I don’t want to be sure of anything as I’ve been down this road too many times before. I know where I don’t want it to lead.

Magnet

Leave a Reply

